I’m an artist and respectively, I was wrong about Windows Phone

A few months ago now I wrote a post about how after being with Windows Phone for a while, I realized it wasn’t for me. There were many factors I took in play for this conclusion but now there’s an update to my conclusion.

My choices were based off of other motives where I really wanted the ability to try other OS’s and partially because I was getting somewhat bored. I set out to sell my Lumia 920 (which I miss now lol) and found someone who wanted one in exchange for a Nexus 4. I took the plunge and did the swap. The reason for the Nexus 4 Android device was mainly for the fact that I could run a new smartphone OS in development on it. This OS is Ubuntu Touch. Over the time I spent with Android/Ubuntu, I learned a lot and it was a fun experience as it should be when trying something else out. I wasn’t new to Android but I was new to Ubuntu Touch although it was and still is in a development preview version. Using Android was fun, and playing with Ubuntu Touch was fun as well. UT has a lot of potential in my opinion. It’s like a mini version of Ubuntu desktop on your phone. You can even run the terminal to update software etc, which is pretty impressive. Android is, well, Android. It has its pros, but many of us know it has its cons. After playing with Ubuntu/Fedora on my desktop for this time period, I wanted more “stability”. Don’t get me wrong, Linux is awesome. Ubuntu is getting more and more popular with new features that others seem interested in implementing as well. Fedora was awesome too but there was something missing for me personally. I never had any security issues with either Linux platform on my laptop. Dealing with where I should focus my development/programming priorities is very important to me as well. Summed up, I felt the urge to put Windows 8 back on my laptop. I really fits me better. There are huge benefits with using a Linux based, open sourced platform as well though. But I can always install whichever Linux platform alongside (with a much smaller partition) Windows if I ever feel the need to, so we’ll see where that goes for me in the future.

Now back to Ubuntu Touch. They have a long way to go still. The OS and its functionality is very unique. The UI and the UX (hopefully I correctly understand the differences by now lol) are reminiscent of the desktop Unity format but there are still missing points to me. It just feels empty. This could be because it’s still being worked on, but as videos and demos show a more finalized version of it, it still doesn’t appeal to me. So after flashing Ubuntu Touch onto my Nexus 4 about 3-4 times, I decided to move elsewhere. I played with and learned about Firefox OS, which my favorite feature is the impressive fact that the entire phone OS is built off of the web with HTML5. Everything from the settings of the phone to the web apps. This is going to be great for those in other countries where it’s hard to find affordable smartphones, also since Firefox OS phones are planned to be very, very affordable. There are drops in the Firefox OS world of apps though. Yes, they’re just web apps and that is awesome but they are also laggy, unresponsive at times and for the most part, you need an internet connection for them to function at all. I wish them both the best of success.

I started to look more into Jolla’s mission with Sailfish OS, which is truly unlike anything I’ve ever seen. More appealing to the eye and very simple to use. I was looking to get a Nokia N9 to play with MeeGo, which I have heard from my fellow-writers at Nokia Innovation, it’s a legend. The MeeGo smartphone OS is the forefather of the upcoming Sailfish OS. They have a lot of similarities, except it looks to me that Sailfish is just more polished.

I had the opportunity to either get a Nokia N9 for $175 in great condition or a Nokia Lumia 521 for $130. My family and I are in a real bind right now, being unemployed with two children so you gotta do what you gotta do, so I went with the Lumia 521, with no real desire to come back to Windows Phone. I met the guy and talked him down to $100 due to other deals online and ever since I’ve had that phone in my hand, I’m happy. Aside from the awesome Windows Phone/Windows/Nokia community worldwide, this device in itself is perfect for me right now.

First things first, I had to learn that no phone will be ultimately perfect, ever.

Each OS and Manufacturer will have their cons, but what matters is how much the pros add up, for you. They each have their pros as well, obviously.

This Lumia 521 is the best device and Windows Phone you can buy for that price tag to get the most out of. I had a Lumia 810, Lumia 820, Lumia 822 and Lumia 920 and this little Lumia 521 can work just as hard. Pictures come out beautiful outside in the light, since it doesn’t have flash for the camera. It also doesn’t have a front facing camera, but 99% of the time, I never used a front camera. It has a 5 MP camera but still has Nokias camera technology built in (though it’s not Carl Zeiss). Like I said, pictures come out great, videos even better, music is crisp and loud, I have a lot of apps downloaded that I use and still have enough space left.

Simply put, Windows Phone and Windows is a breath of fresh air again, especially WP8 since I use a smartphone for most of my work etc. I was tired of having to constantly kill background tasks with Android among other issues. The battery on this Lumia 521 honestly lasts much longer than my Nexus 4. Windows Phone is simple, clean, effective and though it’s still young, it has come far and I’m sure has a bright future. So I’m excited to get back on the ship and continue my learning of Windows Phone development, Windows 8 development and might work on Sailfish OS development too in the future.

I’d like to thank all of my friends on twitter, Nokia Employees/Ambassadors/Devs/Fans and WinPhans etc, for all of their help, support and love for the welcome back! Let’s do this!!

Leave a Reply

